"...IF YOU FOLLOW YOUR BLISS, DOORS WILL OPEN FOR YOU THAT WOULDN'T HAVE OPENED FOR ANYONE ELSE." - Joseph Campbell

"SOMETIMES ON THE WAY TO YOUR DREAM, YOU GET LOST AND FIND A BETTER ONE." - Lisa Hammond

"IT IS POSSIBLE AT ANY AGE TO DISCOVER A LIFELONG DESIRE YOU NEVER KNEW YOU HAD." - Robert Brault


"IT'S NEVER TOO LATE TO BE WHO YOU MIGHT HAVE BEEN." - George Eliot

"WE DID NOT CHANGE AS WE GREW OLDER. WE JUST BECAME MORE CLEARLY OURSELVES." - Lynn Hall

"GO CONFIDENTLY IN THE DIRECTION OF YOUR DREAMS! LIVE THE LIFE YOU HAVE IMAGED." - Henry David Thoreau

Monday, May 16, 2011

Books Like You've Never Seen Before

I watched the most amazing story last night on the CBS Sunday Evening News. It was about an artist who is so extremely talented, I can't possibly come up with enough words to describe him. I would say he is also a sculptor. A sculptor of books

His name is Brian Dettmer, he lives in Atlanta, Georgia, and he makes magnificent art out of old books. (Actually, I'd describe his work "inside" old books.) I contacted Mr. Dettmer last night via e-mail, requesting permission to share some of his beautiful creations on my blog. He replied and graciously agreed, as long as I credit it properly.

Get ready for some jaw-dropping moments!




(The above three photos were borrowed, with permission, from Brian Dettmer's web site.)

Toward the beginning of his interview, Brian stated that he understands some book lovers will only see mutilated books, but he only uses vintage non-fiction: old medical books, old encyclopedias, old history books. Books that would otherwise be headed to trash dumps.

Click on Brian's link to learn more about him and see many more of these fabulous works of art. You can also see the entire interview on CBS News.

Thank you again, Brian, for allowing me to showcase a minuscule amount of your heart-filled work.

And, Hello & Welcome to Anita, Sophie Li, M, and Mdkline, my newest followers! I hope you'll stop by often and always enjoy what you read and see! Thank you!

“Art enables us to find ourselves and lose ourselves at the same time.” -- Thomas Merton

12 comments:

  1. Very interesting stuff, Becky. Looks like hard work too.

    Also like your own new artwork on the blog page!

    ReplyDelete
  2. We have some talented people here in good old GA.

    ReplyDelete
  3. Oh so cool, love these books :)
    Thanks for sharing the awesomeness!

    ReplyDelete
  4. Wow! Those are incredible! Thanks for sharing. :)

    ~Melissa

    ReplyDelete
  5. Amazing. I will have to check out his website. Thanks for sharing with us.

    ReplyDelete
  6. Absolutely amazing, and certainly unique. I have never seen anything like that before. Thank you for sharing it with us.

    ReplyDelete
  7. Wow! now that is amazing for sure!

    ReplyDelete
  8. Very cool! Wish I could read the lines he's left uncut!

    ReplyDelete
  9. Wow. I'd heard of altered books where crafters essentially turn books into scrapbooks, but this is on a completely different level. Amazing!

    ReplyDelete
  10. Hi Becky,

    That is so cool! What works of art. Nice job of writing to him personally and asking permission too.

    Have a great day, fellow Maueve Binchy reader!

    Hugs,
    Kathy M.

    ReplyDelete
  11. Becky, thanks for the comments on my egg coddler post. A coddled egg is really just a poached egg, but I don't like a slightly cooked egg so I cook mine longer making the yolk harder.

    You butter or Pam the coddler, break in an egg, salt, add bacon bits if you like and put the lid on. Then lower it into boiling water and cook for 5 mintues or more...mine is always more! Use a wooden spoon handle to put in the silver ring on top of the coddler to lift out of the water. Then take of lid and eat from the coddler if desired. You aren't the only one who asked, so maybe one of these days I will take pictures of cooking with coddlers for the blog!

    ReplyDelete

I love comments, especially because I know the time it takes to stop and type one, even a short one! Thanks very much!